Giving without Spending

Posted: November 4, 2010 in Memorable Events, Personal

I was inspired to write today about GIVING, how to Give and what’s the best thing to give coz early morning today while I’m taking a jeepney going to the office a group of young adult (Badjao) beating their drums and dancing to tune of their beat, they are giving envelopes to ask for some money. I am wondering what’s the best way to give and how to give!?

Matthew 6:2-4 “So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honored by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.”

The bible says to give secretly as much as possible. It’s not the approval of other people seeing you giving to the needy but it’s the Approval of our Father in Heaven. Personally, I don’t give to these people coz for me I am not giving but I am spending them to live life as it is. They become dependent to people that surrounds them. It’s just like I am spending a certain amount of money for other people to see me giving. It’s very clear that the bible says to GIVE but I believed we can give something aside from money. This is what all about; WE CAN GIVE WITHOUT SPENDING.

Let me first define what is SPENDING and what is GIVING. SPENDING is to pay out, disburse, or expend; dispose of (money, wealth, resources, etc.) while GIVING is to present voluntarily and without expecting compensation.

I can give my smile, I can give advice, I can give comfort, I can give compliment, I can give my prayers and I can give my time without expecting others to pay me for what I did. These are simply an illustration of giving without spending. Those are just simple things but it means a lot for others.

So what’s the best thing to give? I can say, your TIME. Giving your time is the best thing you can give. It’s something that we can’t take it back when we give it, there’s no rewind or fast forward of our time. When a person is about to die, they want their love ones to be there beside them, that’s giving your time. When a person has a problem, all he need is your time to listen to him. If you want to have a piece of mind, just give yourself a little time alone and listen to God. Listen to your heart and He will talk to you when you just shut up your mouth. The question is “How much time you can give?”

Comments
  1. Giving without Spending « Arjhay1726′s Weblog…

    Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……

Leave a Reply

